2018 Athena Award Nominees

The Women's Business Council (WBC) of Marion, Ohio is  honored to again sponsor the ATHENA Leadership Award. The ATHENA was  inspired by the goddess of Greek mythology known for her strength,  courage, wisdom and enlightenment - qualities embodied in the ATHENA  Leadership Model. The Award is unique in both scope – local, national  and international – and the ATHENA mission upon which it is based. The  ATHENA Leadership Award® is presented to a woman – or man – who is  honored for professional excellence, community service and for actively  assisting women in their attainment of professional excellence and  leadership skills. 

ATHENA nominations are solicited from  community members. The WBC honors all nominees with a luncheon and  awards the beautiful ATHENA sculpture to the final recipient.  

The  2018 ATHENA will be presented at a luncheon Monday, March 12, in the  Guthery Room at Maynard Hall on the Ohio State University at  Marion/Marion Technical College campus. Pam Hall, 2018 ATHENA recipient  and president of the Marion Area Chamber of Commerce, will give a few  brief comments. Hall’s charity of choice was the Heart of Ohio Homeless  Shelter. Their executive director, Chuck Bulick, will then speak on how  the $5,224 they received as a result of the silent auction at this event  impacted the shelter. 


Terri Martin, chair of the Marion  Women’s Business Council board, indicated, “Once again we have a strong  list of nominees, and I know the judges will have a difficult time  choosing a winner.”  She continued, “The quality of women in leadership  positions throughout the Marion community is strong, and we are honored  to provide a forum for those accomplishments to be recognized.” 


Local  companies championing the ATHENA recognition include Cummins Facility  Services, Lois J. Fisher & Associates, Majic 95.9 iHeart Radio,  OhioHealth, The Ohio State University at Marion, and Wyandot. Others are  The Barn at All Occasions, Allstate Insurance Rob Hyburg, Custom  Professional Accounting, Fahey Bank, Marion Community Credit Union,  Marion Flower Shop, Marion Technical College, Marion Wealth Management,  McDaniel Motors, Morral Companies, Nucor Steel, Ohigro Inc., The Ohio  Neck & Back Pain Relief Centers, Sims Brothers, Stifel Nicolaus  & Company, The Union Bank, United Church Homes, Aqua Ohio, 

Carroll’s Jewelers, Marion OnLine, Marion Star, Merrill Lynch, The Power Factory, River’s Edge, and Sisler Companies. 


Modern  Woodmen Fraternal Financial has once again committed to matching the  funds, up to $2500, raised from the silent auction which will then be  presented to the ATHENA Leadership Award® recipient’s non-profit charity  of choice.  


Marion Women’s Business Council is dedicated  to inspiring women to reach their full potential through mentoring,  networking education and recognition. Visit  www.WomensBusinessCouncil.com for more information on the ATHENA or how  to become a part the Marion Women’s Business Council. Athena luncheon  reservations are $18 each and may be made by sending an email to  mrn.wbc@gmail.com or by calling Sherry Goodman, Membership Co-Chair, at  740-751-6950.  





Katherine (Kate) Fisher 


Redbrick Social Media 

Nominated by Elaine Merchant 

Non-profit donation choice:  Downtown Marion, Inc. 


Chris Haas 

Financial Director, Former Executive Director 

Marion Adolescent Pregnancy Program (MAPP) 

Nominated by Tami Galloway 

Non-profit donation choice:   Marion Adolescent Pregnancy Program  


Heidi Jones 


Marion Matters, Inc. 

Nominated by Tom Stotts 

Non-profit donation choice:  Marion Matters, Inc. 


Jackie Peterson 


Logos Christian Ministries 

Nominated by Lora Troutman 

Non-profit donation choice:  Peace and Freedom Committee 


Lauren Schifer 


Mary Kay  

Nominated by:  Rebecca Williams 

Non-profit donation choice:  Marion County Humane Society 


Cheryl Wickersham 

Vice President of Housing Services 

United Church Homes 

Nominated by:  Rev. Kenneth Daniel  

Non-profit donation choice:  Brownstone Terrace, Marion 


Shary Williamson 

Author & Co-Owner 

The Woodland Elves 

Nominated by:  Pam Hall and Doris Dunn 

Non-profit donation choice:  Explore-It-torium 


Kristi Wink 

Palace Theatre Production Director and Choreographer, Marion Palace Theatre 

Activity Director, Marion Senior Center 

Nominated by Diane Glassmeyer 

Non-profit donation choice:  Marion Palace Theatre 


Content Goes Here